What is a Developmental Disability?

Simply put, a developmental disability is a physical or mental impairment that originates prior to age twenty-two, is likely to continue indefinitely and results in substantial limitations in the areas of self-care, language, learning, mobility, self-direction, independent daily living, and/or economic self-sufficiency.

Services Available:

  • Early Intervention
  • Therapy Services
  • Family Support Services
  • Residential Counseling
  • Service & Support Administration (SSA)
  • Special Olympics
  • PLAY Project (autism service for children 0-2)

Eligibility and Referral

Age 0-2

Any child, birth through 2, will be evaluated by a team in all areas of development: cognition, fine and gross motor, social/emotional, adaptive (self-help) and communication. Screenings are also administered for hearing, vision and nutrition. Members of the team may include: Specialists, service coordinator, family members and nurses. Based on the evaluation results and team recommendations, a child is eligible for services with a delay in one area.

Ages 3 to 5

Services available to those with two developmental delays in these areas: self-care, receptive and expressive language, learning, mobility, self-direction, or capacity for independent living.

Ages 6 to 15

Services available to those eligible according to the COEDI (Children’s Ohio Eligibility Determination Instrument).  A child must have a qualifying diagnosis and be eligible in two or more of the areas listed below.

Ages 16 and Above

Services available to those eligible according to the OEDI (Ohio Eligibility Determination Instrument) or who have been receiving County Board of Developmental Disabilities services (does not have to be Fulton County) prior to July 1, 1991. An individual must have a qualifying diagnosis and be eligible in three or more of the areas listed below.

Eligibility requires a qualifying diagnosis. The following areas are assessed:

· Mobility (age 6 and above)

· Self-Care (age 6 and above)

· Self-Direction (age 6 and above)

· Capacity of Independent Living (age 6 and above)

· Learning (age 6 and above)

· Receptive and Expressive Language (age 6 and above)

· Economic Self-Sufficiency (age 16 and above)